Driving Without Insurance
Driving Without Insurance
If you are convicted of driving without insurance you will be required to pay a very high penalty and you will lose your license for 1 year.
There are approximately 12 million licensed drivers in the State of New York. They are all required to carry insurance for their vehicles in case of an accident. Unfortunately, about seven percent of New York licensed drivers do not carry insurance. In case of an accident, that means trouble for the driver and trouble for whomever and whatever they hit.
Although car insurance is expensive, driving without it in New York State can be even more expensive and can bring serious and expensive consequences. Under the state’s Vehicle and Traffic Law, Article 6, section 319-1, the penalties can be fines up to $1,500 and a possible 15 days in jail. If you are found guilty of the charge, your license can be revoked for a year.
Driving without insurance is considered to be reckless behavior in New York. State law says that in an accident, the responsible driver must compensate the other driver for possible lost wages, pain and suffering, medical bills, and any damage to the vehicle. If you are not insured, there is, of course, no insurance for that compensation.
What are the penalties for driving without insurance in New York?
- Some people may let their car insurance lapse just because the vehicle is in the garage and is used only occasionally, but is it worth it? If you are cited for driving without insurance, your license can be revoked for one year. At the end of that period, you will be required to pay a civil charge of $750.
- In addition to the penalties listed above for an accident without insurance, you may become involved in different kinds of property damage and personal injury charges. A serious accident can be devastating to anyone.
If you are involved in an accident with an underinsured or non-insured driver in New York, call Law Office of Anthony Sharnov, P.C., law firm for a free discussion concerning your rights. We have been representing clients in underinsured and non-insured cases for nearly 7 years. We can make sure that insurance companies live up to their responsibilities in these types of cases. For instance, your insurance company must allow you $25,000 in uninsured motorist coverage.
As experienced personal injury lawyers, we will examine all variables to make sure you will receive just coverage from any accident with a non-insured or underinsured driver. If your case involves the death of a loved one, we will examine your rights not only for insurance compensation but also for cause of action in a wrongful death lawsuit.
We know your rights in accidents that involve non-insured and underinsured drivers in New York State. If you are entitled to compensation, we will work to make sure you receive it. No one in New York should suffer because others do not obey the law. At Law Office of Anthony Sharnov, we work hard to make sure that doesn’t happen. Call us today.